Minister for Communications Marine and Natural Resources Noel Dempsey TD Re-appoints Isolde Goggin as ComReg Chairperson


Dublin, 1 December 2005

The Minister for Communications, Marine and Natural Resources, Noel Dempsey today announced the appointment of Ms. Isolde Goggin as Chairperson of the Commission for Communications Regulation for a further one year period with effect from today.

Ms. Goggin has served as ComReg Chairperson since 1 December 2004 and also as Commissioner since its establishment in December 2002.

“My predecessor decided that the then serving Commission should serve one year terms.  That cycle finished this year.  I am now commencing a second cycle of one year terms commencing with the appointment of Ms. Isolde Goggin for year 1, Mr. Mike Byrne for year 2 and Mr. John Doherty for year 3,” said Minister Dempsey.

The Minister thanked Ms. Goggin for the work undertaken by her and her colleagues during the past year in developing the telecoms market in Ireland and in particular in supporting regulatory framework for the electronic communications sector.

“I look forward to working with the ComReg team in continuing to develop the communications sector in Ireland,” said Minister Dempsey.




For further media information, please contact:


Grace Cappock
Press Advisor
Office: +353 1 678 2440          

Mobile: 087 202 4971     

Ken Cleary  
Press Officer
Office +353 1 678 2441
Mobile: 087 905 9618


Tel: +353-1-6782443 ¨ Fax: +353-1-6782739 ¨ E-Mail:

Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources29-31 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2, Ireland
Tel +353-1-6782000 Fax +353-1-6782449 Eircode D02 X285
Version: 4.8 Daff